My Mama Said

In everyday life, following The Holy Bible is the only thing to do…to put it in terms of our present life, it is through study of God’s Word, that we come to know what is right…sometimes things get passed around that are good & some not so good. I have come to realize that comparing versions is best, try them all out, since no version is the only right one, these are translations, so will not always say things in the way we would.

My Mama always told me to mind my own business, unless someone was in trouble & needed me to speak out with them, or for them (such as an abused child, etc.)

My Mama always helped a person in need, whether that included food, money, a place to stay, or just an ear to listen!

My Mama taught me very young to respect my elders, also anyone around me…that I should come last. Charity was always very important to my Mom & Dad.

Complaining & gossip were a big no-no … you took any pain, kept it in and only when you couldn’t take it anymore should  you then talk it out with an elder.

This reminds me of how things have gone upside down since I was a child…

  •    Now it is common to be in everyone’s business…(Facebook, Twitter, etc.)
  •   If you look around you, notice how most people are more concerned with themselves and what is important to them, first of all.
  •   Slamming someone has become an art of sorts…who can insult the best is actually exalted in public. ( Howard Stern, etc.)
  •   Complaining is commonplace, “woe is me”, this is what “I” went through, “I” am a survivor, etc. (Notice how “I” is so important, putting emphasis on ‘self’ is never good. Keep your eyes on HIM and He will lead you in the way that you should go.

Many of God’s Words have been twisted and perverted to mean the opposite of the true meaning, such as…

  • ‘God helps those who help themselves’, this is just plain wrong, God wants us to deny ourselves…Luke 9:23
    And He said to them all, “If any man will come after Me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily, and follow Me.
  • Money is the root of all evil…1 Timothy 6:10
    For the love of money is the root of all evil; and while some have coveted after it, they have erred from the faith and pierced themselves through with many sorrows.
  • There are many other examples , one could write a book.

Leave a comment